Publish Date: June 20, 2020
Please login to verify this Page

South Sudan officially known as the Republic of South Sudan,[19] is a landlocked country in East-Central Africa. It is bordered to the east by Ethiopia, to the north by Sudan, to the west by the Central African Republic, to the south-west by Democratic Republic of the Congo, to the south by Uganda and to the south east by Kenya.

It gained independence from the Republic of the Sudan in 2011, making it the most recent sovereign state or country with widespread recognition. Its capital and largest city is Juba. It includes the vast swamp region of the Sudd, formed by the White Nile and known locally as the Bahr al Jabal (Arabic: بحر الجبل‎), meaning "Mountain Sea".

South Sudan has a population of 12 million, mostly of the Nilotic peoples, and it is demographically among the youngest nations in the world, with roughly half under 18 years old. The majority of inhabitants adhere to Christianity or various traditional faiths.


Capital: Juba

Population: 10.98 million (2018) World Bank

Currency: South Sudanese pound

Recognised national languages: Dinka; Shilluk; Jur (Luo); Murle; Nuer; Zande; and around 60 other languages

President: Salva Kiir Mayardit